You are here


Basic Economic Area

The United States is divided into 176 geographic areas as defined by the Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce. May also be known as EA (Economic Area). The FCC adopted these area definitions for the purpose of licensing wireless services. BEAs are used in defining PCS and AWS license areas.

Share This Term: 

There is currently no content classified with this term.

Who has the best wireless coverage in your area?

Get opinions from people who live in the Central U.S.
See our Forums.

Find Service

Find and research all the cell phone companies serving your area.
Enter your ZIP code to start your search!


Most recently, how long did you wait before buying a new phone?