Welcome to Our WirelessAdvisor Community!

You are viewing our forums as a GUEST. Please join us so you can post and view all the pictures.
Registration is easy, fast and FREE!

While I hate Sounding Like a Complete Newb (Unlocked Phone Question)

Discussion in 'US Cellular Forum' started by KheldarLars, May 7, 2008.

1. KheldarLars

KheldarLars New Member

My Phone:
    Nokia 6256i
    Wireless Provider(s):
    US Cellular
    I was told in attempting to purchase a new cellphone online, I needed to find one enabled for US Cellular and that it needed to have a specific configuration to work on their setup. Unfortunately, when i search for US Cellular on any website, I only get results for 'unlocked phones'. Will these work, despite the salesperson's reiterated statements in the store, or am I screwed and looking at buying a phone straight from USCC? I'm so perplexed...

2. Jay2TheRescue

Jay2TheRescue Resident Spamslayer
    Super Moderator Senior Member

Cell Tower Picture Gallery:
    My Phone:
    Pixel 4a 5G
    Wireless Provider(s):
    AT&Tingular 310-410
    Since USCC is a CDMA carrier you pretty much need to get a phone from them. Its not like GSM carriers like AT&T or T-Mobile that you can just buy any unlocked phone, insert your SIM card & go.

-Jay

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. KheldarLars

KheldarLars New Member

My Phone:
    Nokia 6256i
    Wireless Provider(s):
    US Cellular
    Then why is it every time I search for US Cellular I find unlocked CDMA phones? Is there a place to get them programmed for US Cellular?

4. Telekom

Telekom Bronze Senior Member

My Phone:
    Nokia 5310, iPhone 3G[S]
    Wireless Provider(s):
    T-Mobile US, Fido CA, T-Mobile NL, Orange IL